Submit Nomination


Dear Friend of the Arts,

The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism (ADPHT) is dedicated to promoting and preserving the cultural, historic and natural resources in our fine state. Recognizing the value of our people, locations and the experiences that our state offers is an important mission.

The Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of ADPHT, supports the creative people and the creative enterprises contributing so much to our overall quality of life. The arts help us to create vibrant communities, enhance economic development statewide and provide entertainment and a means of self-expression.

Join us in our efforts to recognize and celebrate the arts in our state by nominating candidates for the 2021 Governor’s Arts Awards. I invite you to nominate an artist, educator, arts patron or community leader who has made outstanding contributions to the arts in Arkansas.

A distinguished panel from the Arkansas arts community will review the nominations. The recipients will be honored with an awards ceremony in the spring of 2021.

Susan and I are committed to the arts, and we appreciate your shared dedication and support of the cultural heritage of Arkansas and the Governor’s Arts Awards.


Asa Hutchinson


Nomination Form

Nomination forms for the 2021 Governor's Arts Awards will be available in July 2020. The deadline for submission is Sept. 4.

  • Awards will be presented in the spring of 2021.  

Is your Nominee Eligible?

  • Nominees must be current Arkansas residents or Arkansas-based corporations or organizations.
  • Current Arkansas Arts Council members, staff of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, or their immediate families, and selection committee members are not eligible to nominate or be nominated. Posthumous nominations will not be accepted. Past recipients are not eligible in the category for which they have received a previous Governor’s Arts Award.

* Required

A civic leader who has taken a leadership role in creating an environment for artists and the arts to flourish in his/her local community. Potential nominees include arts administrators, elected public officials, and community volunteers.

An individual or organization that has made significant contributions in integrating the arts into the educational curriculum within the school system or through creating educational opportunities in the arts outside the school setting.

An Arkansas for-profit business that has made a significant contribution in support of the arts in this state. This does not include foundations associated with for-profit businesses, stand-alone foundations or 501 ( c )(3) nonprofits.

An individual or group that has made outstanding contributions in the performance or creation of traditional arts and/or folkways in Arkansas and has contributed to the perpetuation of these traditions.

An artist active in the field of architecture, contemporary crafts, design, film, literature, performing arts or visual arts who has made significant contributions to his/her art form.

An individual or family who has made significant philanthropic contributions to the development of the arts.

An artist or group whose contributions to the arts over a lifetime have fostered significant recognition, or an art patron whose lifetime of dedication to the development and support of the arts will sustain the arts beyond his/her lifetime.





Written Statement (Required)

Attach a typed statement which substantiates the significance of the nominee’s contributions to the arts. The nomination should reflect activity beyond normal expectations or responsibilities if the nominee is an arts organization, an employee of an arts organization or an educator.

The statement should not exceed two double-spaced pages on 8 1/2” x 11” paper, and should address:

  • The significance of the contributions and achievements of the nominee, as related to the arts.
  • The range of individuals and groups served by the nominee’s contributions.
  • The length of time and the degree of the nominee’s dedication to the arts.

Supplemental Materials

Supplemental materials are optional, but strongly encouraged.

  • Up to three one-sided pages of material will be accepted.
  • Supplemental material may include support letters, news clippings or magazine articles. News clippings, etc., should be photocopied on 8 1/2” x 11” paper
  • Please do not submit CDs, DVDs, books, display materials, scrapbooks, etc. They will not be considered in judging the nomination.
  • A total of up to five pages of information, plus the nomination form, will be reviewed by the selection committee. Additional materials will not be considered.



For more information on the Governor's Arts Awards program, contact Cheri Leffew.