What's New

What's New

2017 Governor's Arts Awards Recipients Announced

Arkansas Arts Council - Monday, October 31, 2016

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Governor’s Arts Awards. Through the Governor’s Arts Awards program, the Arkansas Arts Council has been annually recognizing individuals and corporations for their outstanding contributions to the arts in Arkansas for 26 years.

The recipients were nominated by the public and then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals from around the state. Each recipient will be honored at a ceremony in the spring (date and location TBA) and will receive an original work of art created by Arkansas artist Elizabeth James of Springdale. Click HERE to learn more about each of the recipients.

Congratulations to the recipients: 

Lifetime Achievement Award

Thom Hall, Little Rock

Arts Community Development Award

Sam and Barbara Tobias, Mena

Arts in Education Award

Art Porter Music Education, Inc., Little Rock

Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award

Wright, Lindsey & Jennings LLP, Little Rock

Folklife Award

Freda Cruse Hardison, Mountain View

Individual Artist Award

Reese Rowland, Little Rock

Patron Award

Johnelle Hunt, Rogers

Judges Recognition Award

Max Elbo, Eureka Springs