What's New

What's New

2017 Small Works on Paper Artists Announced

Arkansas Arts Council - Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Congratulations to the 36 Arkansas artists who were selected for the 2017 Small Works on Paper touring exhibition! Click HERE to view the list of artists.

Now in its 30th year, Small Works on Paper is a juried visual art exhibition that showcases artwork no larger than 18 x 24 inches by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online gallery showcasing the artwork of Arkansas artists.

Thirty-six works are featured in the show that will travel to 10 galleries throughout the state in a yearlong show. The exhibition will make its first stop Jan. 3-27 at the East Arkansas Community College Fine Arts Center Gallery at 1700 Newcastle Road. An opening reception and gallery talk is scheduled for Sunday, Jan. 8, from 2-4 p.m. at the gallery. The reception is free and open to the public.

The entries were juried by David Houston, executive director of The Bo Bartlett Center at Columbus State University’s College of the Arts in Columbus, Georgia. Five artists were selected by Houston to receive purchase awards. Purchase award winners receive the cash amount equivalent to the value of their selected works. Funded by entry fees, the purchase award pieces become part of the exhibition's permanent collection.

The artists selected to receive purchase awards are Sandy Barksdale of J.P. Bell of Fayetteville, Kristin DeGeorge of Hot Springs, Leah Grant of Arkadelphia, and Daniella Napolitano of Little Rock.