What's New

What's New

Congratulations to the 2018 Governor's Arts Awards Recipients

Arkansas Arts Council - Thursday, November 16, 2017

We are excited to announce the recipients of the 2018 Governor’s Arts Awards. For 27 years, the Governor’s Arts Awards program has recognized individuals, organizations and corporations for their outstanding contributions to the arts in Arkansas.

Each year, the recipients are nominated by the public and then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals from around the state. The recipients will be honored at a ceremony in the spring (date and location TBA) and will receive an original work of art created by Arkansas artist Patricia Holifield of Little Rock.

The recipients are:

Lifetime Achievement Award - June Biber Freeman, Little Rock

Arts Community Development Award - Peggy Kjelgaard, Eureka Springs

Arts in Education Award - David Woolly, Alma

Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award - Highlands Oncology Group, Fayetteville

Folklife Award - Brockwell Gospel Music School, Brockwell

Individual Artist Award - Richard Stephens, Hot Springs

Patron Award - Charlotte Hudspeth Gadberry, Little Rock

Judges Recognition Award - Becky Thornton, Conway