What's New

What's New

Nine Arkansas Artists Awarded Fellowships

Arkansas Arts Council - Friday, September 22, 2017

We are pleased to announce the recipients of its Individual Artist Fellowship awards. The artists will be recognized at an awards presentation in conjunction with the Arts Council’s statewide arts conference, ArtLinks, from 5:30-8:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 23, at Historic Arkansas Museum on 200 E. Third Street in Little Rock.

Light refreshments and beverages will be served in the Stella Boyle Smith Atrium at 5:30 with the awards program beginning at 6 in the Ottenheimer Theater. Seating is limited; RSVP by Monday, Oct. 16, by calling (501) 324-9348 or emailing [email protected] The reception is sponsored by Arkansans for the Arts.

Awarded annually, the fellowships recognize individual artistic ability and creative excellence in literary, performing and visual arts. These $4,000 fellowships enable artists to set aside time for creating their art and improving their skills. Three artistic disciplines are selected each year as categories for the awards.

The three categories for this year are Literary Arts: Creative Nonfiction Writing; Performing Arts: Cinematic Arts - Director of a Narrative or Documentary Film; and Visual Arts: Contemporary Craft. The recipients were selected by a jury of professional artists, writers and performers.

Literary Arts: Creative Nonfiction Writing

Caroline Beimford, Fayetteville

Jennifer Coffy Davis, Little Rock

Paige Martin Reynolds, Little Rock

Performing Arts: Cinematic Arts – Director of a Narrative or Documentary Film

Amman Abbasi, Little Rock

Russell Leigh Sharman, Fayetteville

Charles Eric White, Little Rock

Visual Arts: Contemporary Craft

Sofia V. Gonzalez, Little Rock

Kerrick Hartman, Stuttgart

Hannah May, Hensley