What's New

What's New

Tickets on Sale for Annual Governor's Arts Awards Luncheon

Arkansas Arts Council - Monday, February 01, 2016

Tickets are now on sale for the 2016 annual Governor’s Arts Awards luncheon. Gov. Asa Hutchinson will join the Arkansas Arts Council in honoring the awardees at a luncheon scheduled for Thursday, March 10, from 11:45 a.m.-1:30 p.m. at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock. Tickets are $35 and may be reserved by March 3 by contacting Cheri Leffew at [email protected] or (501) 324-9766.

The annual Governor's Arts Awards program was established in 1991 to recognize Arkansas artists, arts patrons and corporations for their outstanding contributions to the arts community. The recipients are nominated by the public and selected by distinguished panel of arts professionals from around the state. Each recipient will receive an original work of art created by artist Kelly Edwards of North Little Rock.

2016 Recipients:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Suzanne Vining Kunkel, Little Rock

Arts Community Development Award

Dr. Dean Kumpuris, Little Rock

Arts in Education Award

The Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas, Pine Bluff

Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award

Deltic Timber, El Dorado

Folklife Award

Sonny Burgess and The Legendary Pacers, Newport

Individual Artist Award

R.B. McGrath, Jacksonville

Patron Award

Dr. Thomas A. Bruce, Little Rock

Judges Recognition Award

Theresa Timmons-Shamberger, Maumelle