Governor's Arts Awards

The annual Governor's Arts Awards program recognizes individuals and corporations for their support of the arts in Arkansas. The awards are presented at the Governor's Arts Awards luncheon held each fall.

The award categories are: Arts Community DevelopmentArts in EducationCorporate Sponsorship of the ArtsIndividual ArtistFolklifeIndividual Patron and Lifetime Achievement.

For more information about the Governor's Arts Awards contact Cheri Leffew, special events/projects program manager at (501) 324-9767 or email

Congratulations to the 2013 Governor's Arts Awards recipients!

Arts Community Development Award
Bob Ford and Amy Herzberg (Fayetteville) 

Arts in Education Award 
Paul Leopoulos (North Little Rock)
Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award
Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, PLLC (Little Rock)
Folklife Award
Paula Martin Morell (North Little Rock)
Individual Artist Award 
Robert Hupp (Little Rock) 

Patron Award
Lee and Dale Ronnel (Little Rock) 

Lifetime Achievement Award 
Billie Seamans (McGehee) 

Judges Special Recognition Award
Farrell Ford (Arkadelphia)

Click HERE to read the biographies of each recipient.

Governor's Art Awards Recipients from 1991 - 2013:

Arts Community Development Award
2013   Bob Ford and Amy Herzberg Fayetteville
2012 Jeff Baskin North Little Rock
2011 John Gaudin North Little Rock
2010 Robert Ginsburg Fayetteville
Beth James Burns
El Dorado
2008 Paul Leopoulos North Little Rock
2007   Dick Trammel Rogers
2006   Mayor Jim Dailey Little Rock
2005   Dwight Hobbs Curry Fort Smith
2004   Steve Arrison Hot Springs
2003   Betty Jo Hays Hope
2002   Ray Baker Fort Smith
2001   Carlos Price Hope
2000   Nancy Hendricks Fayetteville
1999 Ken Bailey & Jim Gresham Harrison
1998 Charlotte Rierson Fairfield Bay
1997 Benini Hot Springs
Arts in Education Award
2013  Paul Leopoulos  North Little Rock 
2012  Christen Burke Pitts 
Clayton Scott 
North Little Rock,
2011  Nicole Capri  Little Rock 
2010 Dr. Neale and Elaine Bartee Jonesboro
2009 Arkansas Symphony Orchestra Guild Little Rock
2008 Zinse Agginie Little Rock/Hope
2007   Walton Arts Center Fayetteville
2006   Brenda Turner Little Rock
2005   Patricia Relph (Individual) Fayetteville
2005   Fort Smith Symphony (Organization) Fort Smith
2004 Linda McLeod Springdale
2003 Fred Boosey Little Rock
2002 Crittenden Arts Council West Memphis
2001 Cross County Arts Council Wynne
2000 Dianna Denton Morrilton
1999 Frankie Goza Arkadelphia
1998 Susan Turner Purvis Little Rock
1997 Lynda Lyon Hot Springs
1996 Andee Evers Pocahontas
1995 Glynn Calahan El Dorado
1994 Dr. Mary Hamilton Magnolia
1993 Winston Taylor Russellville
1992 Donna Wallace Batesville
1991 Dorisenne Hill Little Rock
Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award
2013  Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, PLLC  Little Rock 
2012  TRUE Marketing  Jonesboro 
2011  Thoma Thoma  Little Rock 
2010 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa Eureka Springs
2009 Land O'Frost Searcy
2008 Brackett-Krennerich & Associates Architects Jonesboro
2007 Greenwood and Associates Inc. Fayetteville
2006 Lennox Industries,Inc. Stuttgart
2005 The Sentinel Record Hot Springs
2004 Tyson Foods, Inc. Springdale
2003 Simmons First National Bank, Corp. Headquarters Pine Bluff
2002 Zero Mountain, Inc. of Fort Smith Fort Smith
2001 The Bank of Fayetteville Fayetteville
2000 Southwestern Bell Wireless-Fort Smith Fort Smith
1998 Arkansas Blue Cross & Blue Shield Little Rock
1997 Stone & Ward, Inc. Little Rock
1996 Murphy Oil Corporation El Dorado
1995 International Paper Company Foundation   Pine Bluff
1994 J M Products Little Rock
1993 American Cablevision West Memphis
1992 St. Joseph's Regional Medical Center Hot Springs
1991 Worthen Bank Pine Bluff
Encouragement Award
2000 M.G. Miller Fayetteville
1998 Kelly Grooms Pocahontas
1997 Kerri Jucas El Dorado
Folklife Award
2013  Paula Morell  North Little Rock 
2012   Marty Phillips  Crossett
2011  Mike Shirkey  Fayetteville 
2010 Still on the Hill Fayetteville
2009 Frank Jones Conway
2008 Ruby Sales Rayder Lake Village
2007 Rex Harral Wilburn
1998 Sondra Torchia Eureka Springs
1997 Jerry Fisk Washington
Individual Artist Award
2013  Robert Hupp  Little Rock 
2012  John Jeter  Fort Smith 
2011  Larry Foley  Fayetteville 
2010 Virgil "Spot" Daniel Prescott
2009 Sandra McDonald Little Rock
2008 John Erwin Little Rock
2007 Darcy Pattison North Little Rock
2006 Bryan W. Massey, Sr. Conway
2005 Anita Huffington Winslow
2004 Betty Dortch Russell McMath Little Rock
2003 Dale Carpenter Fayetteville
2002 George Price El Dorado
2001 Gary Simmons Hot Springs
2000 Repha Buckman Hope
1999 Mike Nichols Little Rock
1998 C. Michael Tidwell Little Rock
1997 E. Fay Jones Fayetteville
1996 Sheila B. Parsons Conway
1995 Brad Mooy Little Rock
1994 Carl Scott West Memphis
1993 Rebecca Whitfield Little Rock
1992 Jorges Villegas El Dorado
1991 Cliff Baker Little Rock
Patron Award
2013  Lee and Dale Ronnel  Little Rock 
2012  Drs. Mack and Vern Ann Shotts  Paragould 
2011  Denise and Hershey Garner  Fayetteville 
2010 Marilyn Patterson Fort Smith
2009 Ferold and Jane Arend family Bentonville
2008 Coleman and Shirley “Peaches” Peterson Rogers
2007 Dr. and Mrs. Henry Udouj Jr. Fort Smith
2006 Jim Blair Springdale
2005 Dr. Ted Bailey Little Rock
2004 Dr. Paul Tucker Hot Springs
2003 Dorothy Morris Hot Springs
2002 Barbara Mashburn Fayetteville
2001 James Dyke Little Rock
1999 William Bettwy Pine Bluff
1998 Elizabeth Pruet El Dorado
1997 Janine Earney West Memphis
1996 Donald Munro Hot Springs
1995 June Freeman Pine Bluff
1994 Billie Starr Fayetteville
1993 Polly Crews Fort Smith
1992 Joe Harris, Jr. Blytheville
1991 Dolph Whitten Arkadelphia
Judges Special Recognition Award
2013  Farrell Ford  Arkadelphia 
2012 Jim D. Johnson  Little Rock 
2011  Claire Haun  North Little Rock 
2010 David Peterson Greenbrier
2009 Charles B. Pierce Redfield
2008 RuAnn Ewing Hindsville
2007 Dr. William Clements Jonesboro
2006 Julia Gardner (Lifetime Arts Patron) Wynne
2006 Lorenzo Smith (Arts in Education) Little Rock
2005 Chuck “Lucky Russell” Lomerson Clinton
2004 Alice Guffey Miller (Arts in Education) Monticello
2004 Doug DeMorrow (Individual Artist) Arkadelphia
2003 Kathi Sweere Conway
2002 Dr. Wesley Branstine Arkadelphia
2001 Sleepy LaBeef Springdale
2000 Rhonda Hicks El Dorado
Lifetime Achievement Award
2013  Billie Seamans  McGehee 
2012  Zeek Taylor  Eureka Springs 
2011   Vincent Insalaco North Little Rock 
2010 Gene Hatfield Conway
2009 Julia Lansford Jonesboro
2008 Peggy Caudle Vining Little Rock
2007 Jeane M. Hamilton Little Rock
2006 Charles Banks Wilson Fayetteville
2005 George Dombek Goshen
2004 Evan Lindquist Jonesboro
2003 Stanley Rames Hot Springs
2002 Townsend Wolfe Little Rock
2001 Al Allen Little Rock
2000 Susan Morrison Eureka Springs
1999 Cliff Baker Little Rock
1997 May Harris Gray Fort Smith
1993 Lucy Cabe Little Rock

Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is provided by the State of Arkansas and The National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.