What's New


What's New

Individual Artist Fellowship Recipients Announced

August 28, 2012

The Arkansas Arts Council is pleased to announce the recipients of its fiscal year 2013 Individual Artist Fellowship awards. The artists will be recognized at a luncheon during ArtLinks, the Arkansas Arts Council's annual statewide arts conference. The luncheon and awards presentation is scheduled for noon, Wednesday, Oct. 17, at the Hot Springs Convention Center. Tickets to the luncheon are $35 and may be purchased by calling (501) 324-9766.
This year, the Arkansas Arts Council awarded nine artist fellowships worth $4,000 each. Fellowships are awarded annually to artists in Arkansas in recognition of their individual artistic abilities. These fellowships enable artists to set aside time for creating their art and improving their skills. Three artistic disciplines are selected each year as categories for the awards. The three categories for this year are painting, music composition (Western classical tradition) and novels.

The fellowship recipients were selected by a jury of out-of-state professional artists, writers, performers and art administrators. Click here to read the bios for each recipient.

Visual Arts: Painting
John Harlan Norris, Jonesboro
Stephanie Pierce, Fayetteville
Melissa Wilkinson, Bono

Music Composition: Western Classical Tradition
Bonnie Montgomery, Little Rock
Katherine Ann Murdock, Fayetteville
Phillip Schroeder, Arkadelphia

Literary Arts: Novels
Emily C. Hoffman, Russellville
Justin Quarry, Jonesboro
Mary Elsie Robertson, Winslow

Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is provided by the State of Arkansas and The National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.